Game 3

Ah Thanos, my arch enemy. I knew from the start this would be a tough battle. By myself (in a five player game I believe), I’ve managed to hit him once, and with my mom we actually managed to beat him by some miracle. Still, he’s definitely the toughest Mastermind out there. Not my favorite by a long shot, but the hardest. I do like the challenge though, and another fun advantage is getting to use the Infinity Gems. More on that later. This was a two player game and it was actually really fun even though I was blown to smithereens by Kree Negabombs before I even got to touch Thanos. I was oh so close to being able to put a whooping on him so I was still satisfied at the end of it.

Game Setup 

Heroes- Groot, Hawkeye, Rogue, Storm, Deadpool

Mastermind- Thanos

Scheme- Intergalactic Kree Negabomb

Villain Groups- Infinity Gems, Skrulls

Henchman- Hand Ninjas

*Heroic Mode (Add 1 extra Scheme Twist)

*Maniacal Mastermind (Mastermind gains +1 attack)

Gameplay

This scheme is my favorite out of all the ones I’ve played so far. Win or lose, it’s unique and kind of fun to put the scheme twists in the deck with some bystanders and then test your luck to see if you get to rescue a civilian or get blown to bits. It was very dramatic.

The first scheme twist I got, the odds of drawing it were only 1 to 6. Of course, I end up drawing it anyway. So five heroes were wiped out. Now I would hope that in the various shows and movies, SHIELD would have better security so they don’t just allow a crazy titan to drop space bombs on them and the heroes be destroyed. Someone must have been sleeping on the job.

Oddly enough, the Skrull queen Veranke was actually useful to me in this game, as she stole Hawkeye’s best card from the HQ, which put him out of harm’s way from those pesky scheme twists. Then I was able to defeat her and recruit him, which was awesome.

I decided it really does help when you focus your deck on two or maybe three colors of hero when you can, except maybe when Captain America is in play and he benefits from having a variety of colors. I noticed this especially with Groot, as his cards were able to play off of all the green cards I had and allowed me to KO useless heroes in exchange for shards. I also got to use this tactic to my advantage a few times with Hawkeye, though with only minor effects. Still, it adds up. In fact, it allowed me to defeat TWO Infinity Gems at the same time. Those suckers are hard to beat, so I felt that was quite an accomplishment.

The Infinity Gems are my favorite villain group hands down, and probably my favorite cards to play with so far. They’re villains, but once you beat them, they go into your discard pile. Once you draw them you can set them out as artifacts and they give you once per turn bonuses (extra attack, extra recruit, or shards) or in the case of the Reality and Time Gems, abilities to manipulate the game itself. The Reality Gem lets you place a villain card on the bottom of the deck instead of playing it, which is very useful with master strikes. Sadly it doesn’t work with scheme twists. The Time Gem lets you take an extra turn after playing it.

With four Infinity Gems out on the table and two more in one of my decks, I was all set to knock Thanos down 12 points, from 25 to only 13! That’s still a lot, but with the combos I was starting to get and the Gems and shards powering me up, I was ready to start kicking his butt. Then I just had to draw a scheme twist and with 5 to 2 chances of drawing a scheme twist from the negabomb deck, the odds just weren’t in my favor. So the game sadly came to an end, but next time Thanos, you’re going down.

Results

EVIL WINS

Leave a Reply

