Game 11

I’ve switched gears now back to the heroes version of the game for a bit, and while this one wasn’t the most exciting I’ve played, it was still very fun as usual.

Game Setup

Heroes- Iron Man, Captain America, Rocket Raccoon, Gamora, Hawkeye

Mastermind- Loki

Scheme- Unleash the Power of the Cosmic Cube

Villain Groups- Enemies of Asgard, Hydra, Masters of Evil

Henchman- Doombots

*Heroic Mode- Add 1 extra scheme twist

*Maniacal Mastermind- Mastermind gets +1 attack

Gameplay

The scheme is the easiest in the game, but with Loki at 11 attack I still had a decent challenge and it was enjoyable to play as always.

There weren’t too many noteworthy things in this game, but I will say that Captain America’s cards are useful if you collect a few cards of each color. Normally, you’d want to focus on one or two colors, but I enjoyed having it be an advantage to not have that slight constraint. Not that you have to do that anyway, but a lot of times it really does make a difference. Still, with that not the case this time it was quite freeing.

With Iron Man, Rocket, and Hawkeye in the game, I was drawing a lot of cards. This is a good thing, and that leads me to the one really significant play of the game. I had two Rockets where you could discard a card to draw a card, a Hawkeye that let you draw a card, and an Iron Man where you can draw up to two cards if you have another Tech hero. This allowed me to gather enough points to not only recruit Gamora’s best card Godslayer Blade (which sadly I still haven’t gotten to use!), but I also could defeat the Enchantress at 6, which allowed me to draw three more cards. This then gave me cards that let me draw MORE cards, and by the end of it I was able to defeat Baron Zemo as well, and because I had so many Avengers cards, I got to rescue a whopping 7 bystanders at once. It was a very eventful turn.

It took a little while and I gained a lot of wounds in the process, but I eventually managed to defeat Loki.

Results

Player 1- 28

Player 2- 50

Player 3- 14

Winner 

Player 2

Closing Comments

There always seems to be at least one player that lags in score compared to the others. Maybe I favor one or two of the ‘players’ I control, and kind of neglect to give the other the better cards? Who knows. I’ll have to play a few more times to see for sure.

Leave a Reply

